Music Catalog

Percussion Ensemble
Interchangeable Ensembles
Concert Band
Flexible Band Series
String Orchestra
Emerging Jazz Series
Brass Band


Brass Band

Johann Pachelbel
Arranged by David Marlatt View/Listen
Difficulty: Medium Order Code: BB205
Duration: 5:30 Price: $35.00

Canon by Johann Pachelbel is one of the most famous and recognizable pieces of classical music. The treatment of the melody in this arrangement follows a popular Baroque tradition, the concerto grosso. This technique utilizes a small group of soloists that were supported by the remainder of the ensemble. In this arrangement, the solo instruments are 2 solo cornets and 2 euphoniums which have the majority of the technically scalar passages as well as the lyrical melody line. The chamber sound created by this arrangement is a welcome variation from the tutti sound that is commonly found in brass band writing.


Home | What's New? | Search Catalog | Mailing List | Retailers | Submissions | Licensing | Links | Contact Us
© 2020 Eighth Note Publications.