Music Catalog

Percussion Ensemble
Interchangeable Ensembles
Concert Band
Flexible Band Series
String Orchestra
Emerging Jazz Series
Brass Band


Brass Quartet

Sanctus and Benedictus
Giovanni Palestrina
Arranged by David Marlatt View/Listen
Difficulty: Easy-Medium Order Code: BQ42316
Duration: 3:00 Price: $15.00

Palestrina wrote over 100 masses for various combinations of voices. Of these masses, around 50 are adaptations based on previously composed music by Palestrina himself or others before him. Many of the rest are based on plainchant which provides the melodic material. Of these chant-based works, 30 are considered "paraphrase masses" in which the chant is not confined to just the tenor voice but fragments of the line are passed throughout all the voices. Alternate parts have been provided for several voices.


Home | What's New? | Search Catalog | Mailing List | Retailers | Submissions | Licensing | Links | Contact Us
© 2023 Eighth Note Publications.