Music Catalog

Percussion Ensemble
Interchangeable Ensembles
Concert Band
Flexible Band Series
String Orchestra
Emerging Jazz Series
Brass Band


Concert Band

Rise of the Phoenix
David Marlatt
Difficulty: Grade 3 Order Code: CB14260
Duration: 5:00 Price: $75.00

Rise of the Phoenix is a bold overture with some unique and colorful sounds. After a short introduction, it is set in three main sections: The first part - a build up of short rhythmic figures using the pentatonic scale. This pays homage to the ancient Chinese roots of the phoenix legend. The second section is smooth and lyrical in nature providing an opportunity to showoff an oboist (cued in other voices as well). The fire is felt in the third section as a shifting 7/8 rhythm starts the build to a new soaring phoenix theme on top of some driving lines in the low woodwinds and brass.


Home | What's New? | Search Catalog | Mailing List | Retailers | Submissions | Licensing | Links | Contact Us
© 2024 Eighth Note Publications.